The Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada (RTC) strives to provide a safe, comfortable commute for all transit customers and all RTC transit passengers are asked to adhere to the RTC customer code below.
As a rider on the RTC transit system, I will:
- Wear a shirt and shoes at all times;
- Have exact change ready as the driver cannot make change;
- Refrain from eating or drinking on the bus and have all drinks and food contained in spill-proof containers;
- Use electronic devices, such as a radio or walkman only with headphones as long as the sound is not audible to others;
- Not distract the driver and stay behind the yellow line while the bus is in motion;
- Yield the seats in front of the vehicle for senior and disabled customers;
- Respect that service animals are welcome and ride free of charge. All other animals must be in a cage with a secured covered top and will be allowed on the bus as long as there is open space not occupied by other passengers. If a seat is required for a pet, full adult fare will be charged.
- Stay clear of doorways and stairwells;
- Refrain from fighting, using vulgar or offensive language, pushing, shouting or participating in rough behavior;
- Remove children from strollers and fold down strollers;
- Not smoke on the bus;
- Not bring on board the bus certain restricted items including used gasoline cans, car batteries, skateboards (Skateboards must be in control of the owner and not stored on the floor of the bus), scooters and skates (unless placed in a bag or container with wheels covered), tires or any object too large to fit between passenger seats;
- Not bring on the bus any cart that cannot be folded or put between the seats; and
- Keep aisle clear of grocery bags or other packages.
NEVADA STATE LAWS ON BUS CONDUCT:
Under Nevada Revised Statute 200.471, a person who commits an assault upon a transit operator with a deadly weapon or presents the ability to use a deadly weapon is subject to imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than one (1) year and a maximum term of not more than six (6) years, or a fine of not more than $5,000, or both fine and imprisonment.
Under Nevada Revised Statute 200.481, a person who commits a battery upon a transit operator is subject to imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than two (2) years and a maximum term of not more than ten (10) years, a fine of not more than $10,000, or both fine and imprisonment.
We appreciate your cooperation to help make everyone’s RTC riding experience a pleasant one.